Каменецкая башня

На холме у некогда полноводной реки Лесной возвышается величественное строение, похожее на огромную шахматную ладью. Согласно летописям, Каменецкая башня возведена между 1276 и 1288 годами. По приказу галицко-волынского князя Владимира Васильковича зодчий Алекса нашел место, где вскоре появились город и Вежа с деревянным замком. Каменецкая вежа относится к типу волынских и имеет общие черты с башнями-донжонами, распространенными в XII-XIII веках в Западной Европе. Пятиярусное круглое в плане сооружение (высота около 30 м, толщина стен 2,5 м, наружный диаметр 13,6 м) стоит на каменном фундаменте высотой около 2,3 м и диаметром 16 м. Башня сложена из кирпича темно-красного и желтоватого цветов.

A model of ancient Kamenets

Kamenets Tower

Вежа в Каменце была оборонительной и имеет мало элементов архитектурно-декоративной пластики: узкие бойницы, 4 плоские ниши с полуциркульными завершениями. Верхнюю площадку окружают 14 прямоугольных зубцов с отверстиями для обзора, по периметру особым образом выложена декоративная полоса. Подобные башни в Средние века существовали во многих городах Беларуси: Бресте, Гродно, Мстиславле, Мяделе, Новогрудке, Полоцке, Радошковичах, Турове, Шклове, но до наших дней сохранилась только Каменецкая. В этом ее уникальность. В XIV-XVII веках башня выдерживала набеги крестоносцев, штурмы войск польских и литовских князей, у ее стен сражались армии Речи Посполитой, Швеции и Московского государства.

A model of the Kamenets Tower as part of the exposition of the museum

A hall at the Kamenets Tower museum dedicated to the armor of the late 13th – early 16th centuries

К XIX веку Каменецкая вежа утратила оборонительное значение, была заброшена. В 1822 году ее пытались разобрать на кирпич, но за века кладка превратилась в настоящий камень. Остатки земляного вала и деревянного замка исчезли в 1903 году при проведении реставрационных работ. По проекту архитектора Суслова вокруг башни сняли слой земли, и первый ярус, который ранее считали погребом, вновь оказался на поверхности. Вокруг башни насыпали и обложили камнем кольцевой вал. В таком виде памятник сохранился до наших дней. В начале 1950-х годов башню впервые побелили, а пол вымостили камнем. Реставрационные работы проводились в 1968-1973 и 1996-2003 годах.

The medieval festival near the Kamenets Tower

Founder of the town of Kamenets Prince Vladimir Vasilkovich

С Каменецкой башней связано много легенд, правдоподобных и фантастических. Например, что каменный столп – памятник неизвестному великану, который строил вежу. В наше время Каменецкая башня – памятник истории и культуры – находится под охраной государства. Здесь расположен музей "Каменецкая башня". На верхней площадке проводятся обзорные экскурсии "Архитектурные памятники Каменца". Посещение башни включено в различные экскурсионные программы. Каменецкая башня представлена в предварительный список Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

The town of Kamenets

Picture depicting the construction of the Kamenets Tower

Читать также


Костёл Святой Троицы в Гервятах

Великолепный костел в неоготическом стиле, который может украсить любую европейскую столицу, был построен в местечке Гервяты в 1899–1903 гг. на средства князя Ольшевского.

Троицкое предместье

Троицкое предместье – живописный старинный квартал на берегу реки Свислочь в центре Минска. Его уютные улочки и выкрашенные в нежные тона дома с черепичными крышами стали своеобразным символом Минска, запечатленным на сувенирах и сладостях.

Национальная библиотека Беларуси

Национальная библиотека Беларуси, возглавляя систему библиотек страны, является хранительницей мощного информационного ресурса. Более 90 лет она собирает документальное наследие белорусского народа.

Отзывы

Kamenets Tower

Address: Kamenets Tower
View on Map
Get Directions

The majestic building resembling a chess rook is located on the hill near the Lesnaya River which was full-flowing back then. According to the chronicles, the Kamenets Tower was built between 1276 and 1288 on the orders of Galicia–Volhynia Prince Vladimir Vasilkovich by architect Aleksa who found the site to build a town and a wooden castle. The Kamenets Tower is Volhynian type and shares some features with donjon towers that were widespread in Western Europe in the 12th-13th centuries. The five-tier round building (30 meters high, 2.5 meters thick with the outer diameter of 13.6 meters) has a 2.3-meter-high foundation which is 16 meters in diameter. The tower is made of dark-red and yellowish bricks.

A model of ancient Kamenets

Kamenets Tower

The tower in Kamenets was built for defensive purposes and therefore lacks architectural and decorative elements. Instead, it has thin portholes and four flat niches with semicircular ends. The top part of the tower, which is now an observation platform, is surrounded by 14 rectangular merlons with apertures. A decorative strip runs around the top of the tower. The same towers were widespread in many Belarusian towns such as Brest, Grodno, Mstislavl, Myadel, Novogrudok, Polotsk, Radoshkovichi, Turov and Shklov but only the Kametets Tower still survives as a unique specimen of the medieval architecture. During the 14th-17th centuries the tower survived crusaders’ raids and assaults by Polish and Lithuanian forces, armies of Rzeczpospolita, Sweden and the Moscow State.

A model of the Kamenets Tower as part of the exposition of the museum

A hall at the Kamenets Tower museum dedicated to the armor of the late 13th – early 16th centuries

By the 19th century the Kamenets tower had lost its defensive importance and was neglected. In 1822 attempts were made to disassemble the brick masonry, but over the centuries it turned into a stone.
The remains of the earth mound which the tower stood on disappeared in 1903 following restoration works. According to Suslov’s architectural project, the earth mound was removed and the first tier, which had been considered a cellar, appeared above the ground. A stone rampart was built around the tower. That was the last major restoration of the tower and since then the appearance of the Kamenets Tower has not changed. In the early 1950s the tower was for the first time whitened and the floor was paved with stone. Restoration works were also carried out in 1968-1973 and 1996-2003.

The medieval festival near the Kamenets Tower

Founder of the town of Kamenets Prince Vladimir Vasilkovich

There are a lot of myths and legends surrounding the Kamenets Tower. Some of them are plausible, some are nothing but fairytales. One of such fantastic legends says that the Kamenets Tower was built by an unknown giant and is a monument to him. Today the Kamenets Tower is a historical and cultural monument protected by the state. The Kamenets Tower museum is located here, too. The excursions named "Kamenets’ Architectural Monuments" are organized on the observation platform of the tower. This must-see site is included in various excursions. The Kamenets Tower is included in the UNESCO World Heritage Tentative List.

The town of Kamenets

Picture depicting the construction of the Kamenets Tower

Read More


The National Library of Belarus

The National Library of Belarus, being at the head of the library system of the country, is the keeper of a powerful information resource. For more than 90 years it has been collecting the documentary heritage of the Belarusian people.

Catholic Church of the Holy Trinity in Gerviaty

A magnificent church in the Neo-Gothic style, which can decorate any European capital, was built in the village of Gerviaty in the years 1899-1903 at the expense of Prince Olszewski.

Great Patriotic War Museum

The Belarusian State Museum of the History of the Great Patriotic War was the world’s first museum to tell the story of the bloodiest war of the 20th century, and the only one in Belarus created during the years of Nazi occupation.

Comments