Palace and Park Ensemble in Stankovo Village

Address: Stankovo Village
View on Map
Get Directions

In the village of Stankovo Count Emeryk Hutten-Czapski built a wonderful manor that became his family nest. The palace itself reflected his nostalgia for the Middle Ages. It was burnt down during the Second World War, but other buildings remained untouched. For example, the count’s major pride – Skarbnitsa (treasury) – a two-storey pavilion with corner towers and gothic roofs some time ago housed a unique numismatic collection, a library featuring thousands of rare books and old maps, fine art paintings and ancient porcelain, the rarities found during the diggings at the Stankovo burial mounds, etc. The manor has preserved its old entrance gate, the blacksmith's shop, a servants’ house, a kitchen outbuilding with an underground passage, a water tower, a barn, a family vault, and a summer house with a view to St. Nicholas Church built in the 19th century that is currently under reconstruction.    

Read More


The Butrimovich Palace

The beautiful biulding with antique terraces on side wings and five high stairs, facing the river in the past is called here The Butrimovich Palace.

Museum-Estate of Ilya Repin "Zdravnevo"

The Zdravnevo estate is located near the village of Koitovo, on the left bank of the Western Dvina. In 1892 it was acquired by the famous Russian painter Ilya Repin.

Niemcewicz Estate In Skoki Village

The magnificent Baroque-style estate was built in the 1770s to the order of Marceli Niemcewicz, a representative of the old family. The estate was inherited by his son Julian Niemcewicz, a writer, historian, and public figure, who served as an aide-de-camp to Tadeusz Kosciuszko and participated in the drafting of the first European constitution.

Comments