Каляды

С конца декабря до января группы деревенских жителей наряжаются в костюмы и идут от дома к дому, распевая традиционные песни-кадядки. Пестрый состав персонажей обычно включает в себя "Казу" (коза), символ плодородия и энергии, а также "Каня" (лошадь), "Бабу "(старая женщина), "Дзеда "(старый человек) и "Цыганку" (цыганка).

Каляды

Толпа движется с востока на запад, вслед за солнцем, и стучится в каждую дверь. Каждый визит состоит из трех частей: приветствие хозяев дома, исполнение традиционные игры и песни и получение вкусных угощений. На фото - празднование Каляд в деревне Рог Солигорского района. Организовали гуляние участники народного коллектива "Палесские криницы".

Каляды

Каляды

Слово "Каляды" происходит от латинского "Calendae", это название первого дня каждого месяца. Еще одна версия происхождения этого слова - "кола" (колесо). В ежегодном цикле народных обрядов и праздников этот праздник - первый. Он был очень хорошо принят в качестве празднования Рождества.

Каляды

Каляды

Ритуальную пищу готовят на несколько раз: "posnaia viachera" (постный ужин) без мяса или жира, "toustaia" (жирная) или "miasnaia" (мясная) - ужин с мясом, яйцами и конфетами на Новый год , и последний - "halodnaia" (голодная) или "vadzianaia" (водянистая) в конце Каляд.

Каляды

Каляды

Во время праздника люди наряжаются в животных, носят солнце и голову козла на палках, посещают дома. Исполняются специальные песни, молодёжь играет в игры, проводятся народные театральные представления, а скоморохи развлекают толпу и шутят. 

Каляды

Каляды

Читать также


«Вождение Сулы»: подарок из древности

Вы знаете, что такое «Вождение Сулы»? Этот белорусский обряд провели в деревне Марковичи Гомельского района. Сула — это копьё, метательное оружие. Возможно, стрела или сула, пущенная в толпу мужчин, была жребием: в кого попадёт, того приносили в жертву языческому богу плодородия. Но это только догадки.

Фестивали традиционной культуры и кухни

Какой была Беларусь сотни лет назад? Чем уникальна и самобытна ее культура? Какие традиции белорусов известны во всем мире и чем удивляет наша страна ценителей аутентичного наследия?

Радуница: с заботой о предках

Радуница, весенние дзяды — это старинный весений, языческий праздник восточных славян. Этот день и вся предшествующая ему неделя называются Родительскими. Отмечают праздник на 9 день после православной Пасхи.

Отзывы

Kalyady

From late December into January, groups of villagers dress up in costumes and go house-to-house singing traditional “kaliadki” songs, for which they are rewarded with treats. The motley cast of Kalyady characters usually includes “Kaza” (the goat), a symbol of fertility and energy, as well as “Kon” (the horse), Baba” (the old woman), “Dzied” (the old man), and “Tsygan” (the gypsy).

Kalyady

The crowd moves from east to west, following the sun, and knocks at every door. Each visit consists of three parts: greeting the masters of the house, performing traditional games and songs, and receiving edible treats. Here we see pictures from the recent Kalyady celebration in Roh, a small village in Salihorsk region. The celebration was organized by the folk collective “Palesskia Krynicy.”

Kalyady

Kalyady

It comes from Latin "Calendae", which is the name for the first day of each month. Another version of the origin of the word is the word "Kola" (the wheel) which is related tothe turn of the year. In the annual cycle of folk rituals and celebrations this holiday was the beginning. Later it was very nicely adopted for Christmas celebration by Orthodox and Catholic churches.

Kalyady

Kalyady

The ritual food was cooked for three ritual dinners: "posnaia viachera" (fasting dinner) with no meat or fat in the beginning, "toustaia" (fat) or "miasnaia" (meat) dinner with meat, eggs and sweets on New Year Eve and the last one - "halodnaia" (hungry) or "vadzianaia" (watery) at the end of Kaliady. 

Kalyady

Kalyady

During Kaliady there were a lot of fun going on. Folks would dress themselves as animals and fantastic beasts,  carry the sun and the goat's head on a stick and visit different houses  trick-or-treating. They would sing special Kaliady carrols in which the performers greet the house owners, wish them success and plentitude. The youth were playing games, perform in folk theatre plays for public, "skamarohs" would entertain the crowd, play jokes on people.

Kalyady

Kalyady

Read More


"Vozhdenie Suly": a gift from antiquity

Do you know what "Vozhdenie Suly" is? This Belarusian rite was held in the village of Markovichi, Gomel region. Sula is a spear, a throwing weapon. Perhaps an arrow or a sula, which was thrown into the crowd of men, was a lot: the "victim" of arrow was given to the pagan god of fertility. But this is just a guess.

Belarusian Rite Of The Kolyady (Christmas) Tsars

In 2009, the unique Belarusian rite of the Kolyady Tsars, which is performed only in the village of Semezhevo (Kopyl District, Minsk Oblast), was added to the UNESCO List of Intangible Cultural Heritage.

The International Arts Festival Slavonic Bazaar in Vitebsk

The International Arts Festival Slavonic Bazaar in Vitebsk has become a trademark of the Republic of Belarus. For years, the music forum has been promoting cross-cultural dialogue between nations and countries.

Comments