World Famous Magnificent Nesvizh Palace

Address: Belarus, Nesvizh
View on Map
Get Directions

Located 120 km south-west of Minsk, the town of Nesvizh is one of the oldest in Belarus. The first record of it dates back to 1223. In the 15th century, while still a minor town, it passed to the Radziwiłł princely family, and remained the family's estate for more than three centuries. On the initiative of Mikołaj "the Orphan" Radziwiłł the city was granted Magdeburg rights in 1586. Throughout its history Nesvizh has always exercised great influence in the sciences, arts, crafts and architecture. Today Nesvizh has become a modern urban centre with elegant cafes and restaurants, numerous souvenir shops and comfortable hotels and is a real delight for tourists.

Картинки по запросу несвижский замок

Nesvizh surroundings are extremely rich in antiques and places of interest. It’ll be an especial pleasure to start discovering the city with Slutsk Gate, the only surviving gate of the end of the 16th – beginning of 17th centuries urban fortification system. Not less pleasure will you get viewing the 16th century Nesvizh Town Hall with its distinctive Baroque and Renaissance features. The list of the city’s outstanding landmarks also includes the 1st in Eastern Europe Baroque style temple of Corpus Christi, the craftsmen’s house, the unique complex of former Benedictine monastery and Bernardine Monastery.

Картинки по запросу несвижский замок

But what makes the town of Nesvizh especially elegant, what gives it its charming atmosphere and singularity is Nesvizh Palace and Park Ensemble. The ensemble, located in the north-east part of the town and surrounded by ponds of the river Usha, was built and occupied by the Radziwill family from the 16th to 20th centuries.

Over 400 years of its history, the palace had absorbed the attributes of different architectural styles: Renaissance and Classicism, Baroque and Rococo, Art Nouveau and Neoclassicism. But the castle’s ten interconnected buildings, including the palace, the galleries, the residence and the arsenal have always been one architectural whole. The castle withstood numerous assaults of Russian troops in the 17th and 18th centuries, later was partially destroyed by the Swedes. The repair and renovation works began in the 18th century and marked a new stage in the ensemble’s development.

Картинки по запросу несвижский замок

The archive of the Great Principality of Lithuania was kept in the castle. The castle library accounted for 20 000 volumes in 1770. In the 2nd half of the 18th century, it was the largest private library at the territory of Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth. The picture gallery was home to 984 canvases in 1770. The collections of weapons, numismatics and other valuables were also unique. Unhappily, it was exactly in 1770, when the castle was seized by Russian forces and the Radziwill family was expelled, what made the palace fall into disrepair. However as soon as in 1886 the castle's interiors were renovated, and a magnificently beautiful landscape park in English style was designed.

Картинки по запросу несвижский замок

Later on in Soviet times, the chateau was used as sanatorium, while the park gradually fell in neglect. Soon its destiny was shared by the palace. The restoration works began in 2000 and were finished up to 2012. Now the castle complex, listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site, is open for visitors.

Detailed information on the menu of services, price list and means of transport to get to Nesvizh Palace and Park Ensemble you may find out on its official web-site http://niasvizh.by/.

Картинки по запросу несвижский замок

Read More


The Butrimovich Palace

The beautiful biulding with antique terraces on side wings and five high stairs, facing the river in the past is called here The Butrimovich Palace.

Priluki Castle

The legend has it that the mysterious castle in the village of Priluki was built in place of an Orthodox monastery that was ruined in 1740 for an unknown reason.

Niemcewicz Estate In Skoki Village

The magnificent Baroque-style estate was built in the 1770s to the order of Marceli Niemcewicz, a representative of the old family. The estate was inherited by his son Julian Niemcewicz, a writer, historian, and public figure, who served as an aide-de-camp to Tadeusz Kosciuszko and participated in the drafting of the first European constitution.

Comments